top of page
What is PALF?
Nurse helping Child with PALF and her family (PEDSALF.com)

What is PALF?

  • Sudden onset in a previously healthy child

  • Yellowing of skin and eyes and loss of liver function

  • Change in behavior and level of consciousness

  • One third of children with PALF require liver transplantation

Pediatric Acute Liver Failure is a disorder of childhood that occurs suddenly in previously healthy children. Affected children develop loss of liver function over a period of days to weeks. The liver provides many vital functions for the body and loss of liver function is a life-threatening condition. There are several well-established causes of PALF which include viral liver infections, drug related liver injury, inherited defects in metabolism and autoimmune inflammatory conditions. However, in more than half the children that develop PALF a cause is never determined. Approximately one third of children affected with PALF require a liver transplantation and one in five children with PALF die.

What is PALF
What is TRIUMPH?
TRIUMPH group dcotors

What is TRIUMPH?

  • TRIUMPH is a clinical trial funded by the National Institutes of Health for children with acute liver failure

  • The trial tests two different therapies compared to supportive care alone

  • Many pediatric hospitals across the country are participating in the trial

TRIUMPH is a NIH sponsored clinical trial (clinicaltrials.gov) testing two different types of therapies as compared to supportive care alone for children who do not have a treatable cause for their liver failure. The trial is testing whether medications that dampen the body’s immune response to sudden, severe liver injury will allow the liver to recover more quickly. We believe that in some patients with PALF the body mounts an inflammatory response to the liver injury that is overactive and that the resulting inflammation may be a barrier to effective healing of the liver cells. This trial is offered at 20 large pediatric hospitals across the country and will be enrolling patients between 2022 and 2025.

What is TRIUMPH

PALF IRN TRIUMPH Trial: 
Site Contact Information

Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago

Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago

Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

225 East Chicago Avenue, Box. 65

Chicago, IL  60611-2605

Principal Investigator

Estella M. Alonso, MD, FAASLD

Phone: (312) 227-4615

Fax: (312) 227-9645

Email: Ealonso@luriechildrens.org

Clinical Research Coordinator

Mary Riordan

Phone: (312) 227-4558

Fax: (312) 227-9645

Email: MRiordan@luriechildrens.org

Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago Logo
Benioff Children’s Hospital, University of California San Francisco

Benioff Children’s Hospital, University of California San Francisco

550 16th Street

4th Floor, Mail Code 0136

San Francisco, CA 94158

Principal Investigator

Philip Rosenthal, MD

Phone: (415) 476-5892

Fax: (415) 476-1373

Email: prosenth@ucsf.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Joanna Curry

Phone: (415)476-1539

Email: joanna.curry@ucsf.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Camille Langlois

Email: Camille.Langlois@ucsf.edu

Benioff Children’s Hospital, University of California San Francisco Logo
Boston Children’s Hospital

Boston Children’s Hospital

Division of Gastroenterology,

Hepatology and Nutrition Center for Childhood Liver Disease

300 Longwood Avenue

Boston, MA  02115

Principal Investigator

Scott Elisofon, MD

Phone: (617) 355-5837

Fax: (617) 730-0716

Email: Scott.Elisofon@childrens.harvard.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Cosette Scott

Phone: (617) 355-8350

Fax: (617) 730-0716

Email: Cosette.Scott@childrens.harvard.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Sakinah Master

Phone: (617) 355-0530

Email: Sakinah.Master@childrens.harvard.edu

Boston Children’s Hospital Logo
Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta

Emory University School of Medicine

2015 Uppergate Drive NE

Atlanta, GA 30322-1015

Principal Investigator

Rene Romero, MD

Phone: (404) 785-1832

Fax: (404) 785-9183

Email: rromero@emory.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Angela Stallworth, B.S.

Phone: (404) 785-3279

Fax: (404) 785-1197

Email: Angela.Stallworth@choa.org

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta logo
Children’s Hospital Colorado

Children’s Hospital Colorado

13123 E 16th Ave,

Aurora, CO 80045, USA

Principal Investigator

Shikha S. Sundaram, MD, MSCI, FAASLD

Phone: (720) 777-6669

Fax: (720) 777-7277

Email: Shikha.Sundaram@childrenscolorado.org

Clinical Research Coordinator

Cynthia Castanon

Phone: (720) 777-5705

Fax: (720) 777-7351

Cell: (720) 297-9538 

Email: cynthia.castanon@childrenscolorado.org

Children’s Hospital Colorado Logo
Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, University of Southern California

Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, University of Southern California

4650 Sunset Boulevard, #78

Los Angeles, CA  90027

Principal Investigator

Beth Carter, MD

Phone: (323) 361-5454

Fax: (323) 361-3612

Email: becarter@chla.usc.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Carly Weaver

Clinical Research Support Office

4650 Sunset Blvd | MS #142

Phone: (323) 361-8631

Cell: (774) 258-0286

Email: cweaver@chla.usc.edu

Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, University of Southern California Logo
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

3615 Civic Center Boulevard

Abramson Research Center 902B

Philadelphia, PA  19104-4318

Principal Investigator

Kathleen M. Loomes, MD

Phone: (267) 426-7223

Fax: (267) 426-7814

Email: loomes@email.chop.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Katherine Cambareri

Phone: (267) 426-8412

Email: cambarerik@chop.edu

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Logo
Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC

Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC

One Children’s Hospital Drive

4401 Penn Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15224

Principal Investigator

James E. Squires, MD, MS

Phone: (412) 692-5180

Fax: (412) 692-7355

Email: james.squires2@chp.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Susan M. Richey, RN

Phone: (412) 692-6337

Fax: (412) 692-8499

Email: richeys@upmc.edu

Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC Logo
Children’s Mercy Kansas City

Children’s Mercy Kansas City

University of Missouri Kansas City

2401 Gillham Road

Kansas City, MO  64108

Principal Investigator

Ryan Fischer, MD

Phone: (816) 302-3410

Fax: (816) 302-9725

Email: rtfischer@cmh.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Heather Wasserkrug, BSN, RN, CPN

Phone: (816) 302-3043

Fax: (816) 302-9735

Email: hwasserkrug@cmh.edu

Children’s Mercy Kansas City Logo
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

MLC 2010

3333 Burnet Avenue

Cincinnati, OH  45229-3039

Principal Investigator

Anna Peters, MD

Phone: (319) 321-9720

Fax: (513) 636-7805

Email: Anna.Peters@cchmc.org

Clinical Research Coordinator

Tracie Horning

Phone: (513) 636-7511

Fax: (513) 636-4322

Email: Tracie.Horning@cchmc.org

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center Logo
Duke University Medical Center – Duke Children’s

Duke University Medical Center – Duke Children’s

DUMC 102375

Durham, NC 27710

Principal Investigator

Alisha Mavis, MD

Phone: (919) 684-5068

Fax: (919) 684-4836

Email: Alisha.mavis@duke.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Joan Wilson

Email: joan.wilson@duke.edu

Duke University Medical Center – Duke Children’s Logo
Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital At Stanford University Medical Center

Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital At Stanford University Medical Center

750 Welch Road

Suite 116, MC 5731

Palo Alto, CA  94304

Principal Investigator

Amrita Narang, MD

Phone: (650) 723-5070

Fax: (650) 498-5607

Email: anarang@stanford.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Yael Bichman

Phone: (669) 208-5293

Email: bichman@stanford.edu

Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital At Stanford University Medical Center Logo
Mount Sinai Recanati/Miller Transplantation Institute

Mount Sinai Recanati/Miller Transplantation Institute

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

The Mount Sinai Medical Center

One Gustave L. Levy Place, Box 1104

New York, NY  10029

Principal Investigator

Jaime Chu, MD

Phone: (212) 659-8060

Fax: (212) 241-2064

Research: (212) 241-0227

Email: Jaime.chu@mssm.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Marjorie Nisenholtz

Phone: (212) 659-8049, Ext. 88049

Fax: (212) 987-6200

Email: Marjorie.Nisenholtz@mountsinai.org

Mount Sinai Recanati/Miller Transplantation Institute Logo
Primary Children’s Medical Center University of Utah Hospital

Primary Children’s Hospital

81 North Mario Capecchi Drive

Salt Lake City, UT  84112

Principal Investigator

Kyle Jensen, MD

Phone: (801) 213-3599

Fax: (801) 587-7539

Email: kyle.jensen@hsc.utah.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Ann Rutherford, BS, CCRP

Phone: (801) 585-9495

Fax: (801) 587-7539

Email: ann.rutherford@hsc.utah.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Natalie Fillerup

Phone: 801-587-5670

Fax: (801) 587-7539

Email: natalie.fillerup@hsc.utah.edu

Primary Children’s Medical Center University of Utah Hospital Logo
Riley Hospital for Children

Riley Hospital for Children

705 Riley Hospital Drive, ROC 4210

Indianapolis, IN 46202

Principal Investigator

Eugenia (Jean) Pappas Molleston, MD

Phone: (317) 944-3774

Fax: (317) 944-8521

Email: jpmolles@iu.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Wendy Morlan, PSC

Phone: (317) 274-9601

Fax: (317) 274-3771

Email: wmorlan@iu.edu

Riley Hospital for Children Logo
St. Louis Children’s Hospital

St. Louis Children’s Hospital

Washington University School of Medicine

660 South Euclid Avenue, Box 8116

St. Louis, Missouri  63110

Principal Investigator

David Rudnick, MD, PhD

Phone: (314) 286-2832

Email: rudnick_d@wustl.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Stacy Postma

Email: postmas@wustl.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Kenyetta Shelby

Email: k.shelby@wustl.edu

St. Louis Children’s Hospital Logo
Seattle Children’s Hospital

Seattle Children’s Hospital

University of Washington

4800 Sand Point Way NE

Seattle, WA  98105

Principal Investigator

Evelyn Hsu, MD

Phone: (206) 987-2521

Fax: (206) 987-2721

Email: evelyn.hsu@seattlechildrens.org

Clinical Research Coordinator

Melissa Young

Phone: (206) 987-1037

Fax: (206) 987-2721

Email: melissa.young@seattlechildrens.org

Seattle Children’s Hospital Logo
Texas Children’s Hospital

Texas Children’s Hospital / Baylor College of Medicine

6701 Fannin St

Houston, TX 77030, USA

Principal Investigator

Anna M. Banc-Husu, MD, MSCI

Phone: (832) 822-3131

Email: TRIUMPHStudy@bcm.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Tameshia Watts

Phone: (832) 824-7608

Email: TRIUMPHStudy@bcm.edu

Texas Children’s Hospital Logo
UT Southwestern Medical Center Children’s Health

UT Southwestern Medical Center Children’s Health

1935 Medical District Drive, Mailstop F4.06

Dallas, TX  75235

Principal Investigator

Norberto Rodriguez-Baez, MD

Phone: (214) 456-7436

Fax: (214) 456-8006

Email: NORBERTO.RODRIGUEZ-BAEZ@childrens.com;

Norberto.Rodriguez-Baez@UTSouthwestern.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Claudia Sanchez Lucas

Email: Claudia.SanchezLucas@UTSouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern Medical Center Children’s Health Logo
Yale New Haven Children's Hospital

Yale New Haven Children's Hospital

20 York Street

New Haven, CT 06510

Principal Investigator

Rima Fawaz, MD

Phone: (203) 785-4649

Email: rima.fawaz@yale.edu

Clinical Research Coordinator

Emily Carr, MD

Phone: (203) 785-4649

Fax: (203) 737-1384

Email: Emily.carr@yale.edu

Yale New Haven Children's Hospital Logo
bottom of page